h1

Dissecting A Goodie Bag, I Found a Date-o-Meter

27 July, 2007

Be In The Groove

I don’t know what you got in your goodie bags, but here’s what people get when they check into Temasek Hall. Guys and girls get different stuff in their goodie bags, and I was nearly accidentally given a female bag. I knew cuz I was rummaging through at the table, and I found female pads. They quickly switched my bag with the correct one anyway.

So here’s what’s innit. I’ll give pictures of the interesting stuff.

MOsquito Repellent Wipes5. BEAUTEX mosquito repellent wipes. 10 wipes. Effective to six hours.
USE-o-METER:1/5. Innovative concept, I suppose. But when I’m outside, I won’t usually put anything on for the mozzies.

T-zone Selfdefencekit 1 tzone selfdefencekit 2`

`

8. T-Zone Self-Defence Kit, which really is just sample packs of “Gel Face Wash”, “Exfoliating Wash” and “Moisture Lotion”. Wish it had nunchucks inside. Now THAT would be self-defence.
USE-o-METER: 0/5. I never use anything that comes in packets like those.

sexy detector 9. an SDU Date-O-Meter! THIS HAS TO BE THE MOST RIDICULOUS THING EVER! Its a piece of credit-card plastic with a thermally sensitive black strip that says “Put your thumb on the pad and hold for 10 seconds. Red : Still Shy – muster up your courage! Green : Steady On – Think Warm and confident; Blue : You are Hot! Go Do It! Black : Cold Hands – Relax and Breathe”. Apparently the thing turned blue by itself. IT MUST HAVE DETECTED MY AMBIENT HAWTNESS. I MUST BE A SEX MAGNET! CHICKS WILL FLOCK TO MY SIDE. Wait.. its turning red.. and now its black again. Weird.
USE-o-METER: depends. -10/5 if I take it seriously. 5/5 for novelty value.

The LOOK20. THE LOOK “Your Inside-Out Style Guide”
USE-o-METER: 0.5/5. Just for analysis and ridicule. I mean, seriously, they give one of these every year. Last year, it was SHAPE magazine.

SEX KILLS

26. HEALTH PROMOTION BOARD Door-hanger for anti-casual sex and anti-AIDS campaign.
USE-o-METER: 0.1/5. Interesting the first time you see then, then its rubbish.

JET LI IS THE ONE

28. SDU ring-bound notebook “Be The One”. Holy crap, there are pages in here that teach and prepare you for relationships!
USE-o-METER: 3/5. I’ve already got my generic notebook. But it will be interesting to show around the embedded “advice” they leave. That’s for another post!

WAIT WAIT WAIT THERE’S STILL A SECOND GOODIE BAG!

Its just full of brochures and coupons though. And then I got this year’s orientation towel, the orientation t-shirt, another Temasek Hall polo and some forms to fill out.

The rest is just the uninteresting stuff.

1. UNIF instant bee hoon with chicken abalone flavour.
USE-o-METER: 4/5. I’ll probably get to eating this one day.

2. GOLDFISH Baked Snack Crackers Cheddar flavour.
USE-o-METER: 1/5. I’m very picky with snacks.

3. A packet of sweets, Chinese wording only.
USE-o-METER: 1/5. Same.
4. YUMMY nut mix. Its yumminess is yet to be proven.
USE-o-METER: 0/5. Doesn’t look all that appetizing.

6. JULIE’S Butter Crackers. 17g.
USE-o-METER: 3/5. Could probably eat this.

7. INDOCAFE Coffeemix Ginseng Flavour.
USE-o-METER: 1.5/5. I may be picky with my coffee.

10. BIRDY Coffee Candy. 8 Tablets. Its made by Ajinomoto. “Aromatic and Tasty”
USE-o-METER: 1/5. I don’t take candy from strange bags.

11. LAKEROL Sugarfree Grape Pastilles. “Makes People Talk”.
USE-o-METER: 1.5/5. I’ve seen Lakerol before.

12. SHOKUBUTSU Facial Foam for Normal Skin with Orange Peel Oil. “Nourishing”
USE-o-METER: 0/5. Won’t use this.

13. GARNIER Mousepad? Its a picture of the Eye of the Maldives, Atoll of North Mali. “Garnier Supports EARTH FROM ABOVE”
USE-o-METER: 0/5. My optical mouse works fine.

14. FISHERMAN’S FRIEND Sugar Free Citrus Twist. 11g, approx 10 lozenges.
USE-o-METER: 3/5. Niiiiice.

15. SINGTEL triangular highlighter. How my hands will be able to use this, I don’t know. I feel like throwing it like shuriken.
USE-o-METER: 0.5/5. I don’t use highlighters, and I sure don’t like the shape. Maybe I will throw it like a shuriken.

16. 3M COMMAND Picture Hanging Strips. 2 Sets of small strips. Jackpot.
USE-o-METER: 5/5. Now that’s what I call useful.

17. RICOLA Nature’s Protection, Elderberry flavour. Five pieces.
USE-o-METER: 2/5. Coming in a packet rather than a box, I will have to distribute it immediately. Or eat all five at a go.

18. EUCERIN Skin Regulating Creme-Gel, Oil-free moisturizer with 2% lactic acid.
USE-o-METER: 1/5. Should I start using skin moisturizer? Ugh, the sun really is making my skin all dry.

19. SINGTEL. Generic freebie giveaway ball-point pen.
USE-o-METER: 2/5. Maybe i’ll just pass it on again.

21. SPRITZER Natural Mineral Water. 320ml. The water’s from Perak. Good ol’ Malaysian water.
USE-o-METER: 2.5/5. One of those days when I’m toooo lazy to do ANYTHING at all, including to refill my waterbottle, I’ll drink this.

22. NEWater. A product of PUB. 350 ml.
USE-o-METER: 2.5/5. Ditto.

23. HULA mulberry juice drink. 500ml. I remember the bottle we got last year, I used it as a mix for vodka. heh.
USE-o-METER: 3/5. Its a mulberry juice drink.

24. ALLSWELL Starfruit Juice Drink. 500 ml. All’s well!
USE-o-METER:4/5. This is something I already like. BONUS POINTS.

25. PUB post-it notes. “Youth Advolution for Health”. Internet says advolution means “a rolling towards”. I’m notrolling for health, no matter what you say.
USE-o-METER: 3.5/5. You never have enough post-it notes.

27. kNOw DRUGS two-ring document folder.
USE-o-METER: 1/5. Highly unlikely to use because its public branded. Maybe I will use it, when I’m desperate.

Leave a comment